16 teams descend on Nairobi for Safari 7s / Ragahouse.com 16 teams descend on Nairobi for Safari 7s

16 teams descend on Nairobi for Safari 7s / Ragahouse.com 16 teams descend on Nairobi for Safari 7s

The players of 16 teams competing at the 23rd edition of Safari 7s in Nairobi, Kenya are set to converge at a Nairobi hotel on Friday for pre-tournament cocktail.

Hosts Kenya, South Africa and Spain are using Safari 7s to prepare for the 2020 HSBC World Sevens series that starts with Dubai 7s in December.

The likes of Uganda and Zimbabwe are readying for November’s Africa 7s while Russia, according to Fiji 7s legend and head coach Waisale Serevi, are preparing for European GPX series.

South Africa’s Blitzboks are seeded top for Safari 7s. They will face Uganda, Kenya Morans and Burundi. Boks will be lead by Siviwe Soyizwapi with Cecil Africa, Selvyn Davids and Angelo Davids making the squad.

The Kenya Morans are led by experienced Kenya 7s international Jeff Oluoch. Vincent Onyala, Alvin Otieno, Dan Sikuta, Herman Humwa and Johnstone Olindi all who have HSBC World Sevens Series experience join Oluoch.

Defending champions Samurai play Western Province, Zastava and Red Wailers in pool B. Australian Tom Connor leads Samurai to be joined by vice captain W.J. Strydom ( South Africa), Dylan Pietsch Charlie Tupu and Hayden Seargeant (Australia) among others.

Kenya Shujaa are set to see Sevens great Collins Injera, celebrating his birthday on Friday, feature at the Safari 7s for the first time since 2012. Andrew Amonde captains Shujaa as regulars Bush Mwale, Willy Ambaka and Nelson Oyoo return.

Pool D should be interesting as Spain play Zimbabwe, Seventise and local side KCB that has couple of players who won the national sevens circuit a month ago. 

Safari 7s will be streamed LIVE at https://www.facebook.com/safari7s/

Safari 7s Draw:

Pool A:  South Africa, Uganda, Kenya Morans, Burundi
Pool B: Samurai, Western Province, Zastava, Red Wailers
Pool C: Kenya Shujaa, Blue Bulls, Russia Academy, Zambia
Pool D: Spain, Zimbabwe, Seventise, KCB

Safari 7s past winners:
2018: Samurai
2017: Not played
2016: Kenya 7s
2015: Samurai
2014: Welsh Warriors
2013: Kenya 7s
2012: SA Elite
2011: Samoa
2010: Kenya 7s

Safari 7s Fixtures
Uganda vs Morans 9.30am
South Africa vs Burundi 9.50am
Western Province vs Zastava 10.10am
Samurai vs Red Wailers 10.30am
Blue Bulls vs Russia Academy 10.50am
Shujaa vs Zambia 11.10am
Zimbabwe vs Seventise 11.30am
Spain vs KCB 11.50am

Uganda vs Burundi 12.20pm
South Africa vs Morans 12.40pm
Western Province vs Red Wailers 1pm
Samurai vs Zastava 1.20pm
Blue Bulls vs Zambia 1.40pm
Shujaa vs Russia Academy 2pm
Zimbabwe vs KCB 2.20pm
Spain vs Seventise 2.40pm

Morans vs Burundi 3.10pm
Zastava vs Red Wailers 3.30pm
Russia Academy vs Zambia 3.50pm
Seventise vs KCB 4.10pm
South Africa vs Uganda 4.30pm
Samurai vs Western Province 4.50pm
Shujaa vs Blue Bulls 5.10pm
Spain vs Zimbabwe 5.30pm


Related Articles