Court stops swearing in of NLC team

Court stops swearing in of NLC team


The Employment and Labour relations court has stopped the swearing-in of the new National Land Commission (NLC) team, hours after President Kenyatta gazetted their appointment.

The NLC Chairman Gerishom Otachi and eight members will not assume office until a petition filed in court is heard and determined.

In a special Gazette notice Wednesday evening, the President appointed the team to be chaired by lawyer Otachi for a non-renewable six-year term.

This follows the end of Dr Muhammad Swazuri’s controversial six-year term, which saw him charged in court over a multi-million shilling land deal.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Otachi, currently the chair of Geothermal Development Corporation, served in the defence team of six Kenyans, including President Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto at the ICC for crimes against humanity.

The President also picked former Nyeri Town MP Esther Murugi, Prof James Tuitoek, Getrude Nduku Nguku, Reginald Okumu, former Labour Cabinet Secretary Samuel Kazungu Kambi, Ms Hubbie Hussein Al-Haji, Mr Alister Murimi Mutugi and former Isiolo Woman Rep Tiya Galgalo to serve as NLC commissioners.

The National Assembly threw out sections of a report by the lands committee that rejected the nomination of Galgalo.

In a stormy debate, the House amended the report to include Galgalo who was rejected by the committee for allegedly failing to file her tax returns in the year 2017.

More to follow;;;;






Tell Us What You Think


Related Articles