EACC begins probe on MPs and State officers with dual citizenship

EACC begins probe on MPs and State officers with dual citizenship

The Ethics and Anti Corruption Commission (EACC) has launched investigations into allegations that several State and public officers including MPs and Senators hold dual citizenship.

Article 78(2) of the Constitution stipulates that “A State officer or a member of the defence forces shall not hold dual citizenship.”

Concerns over elected leaders with dual citizenship emerged earlier this week after activist Okiyah Omtata wrote to EACC asking for a probe into claims that 10 current legislators are holder of dual citizenship.

Omtatah listed eight MPs and two senators alleged to be citizens of other countries.

In a statement issued on Thursday, EACC said a probe into the allegations had began, warning that any leader found culpable will face action and could lose their seats.

“EACC has launched investigations to verify these allegations with a view to taking appropriate action against the public officers in accordance with the law. Such action could include initiating mechanisms for removal for violation of Chapter Six of the Constitution,” said EACC.

The law, however, allows judges and members of commissions to hold dual citizenship.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Beatrice Chepkoech clinches 3000 metres steeplechase gold


Related Articles