Tetu parliamentary aspirant booed – Weekly Citizen

Tetu parliamentary aspirant booed – Weekly Citizen

As the country approaches the forthcoming transitional election, political temperatures in Tetu constituency, Nyeri county have begun to rise. Aspirants are now flexing their muscles to undo each other in their efforts to consolidate support from voters. Pandemonium broke out at Ihururu Stadium when a parliamentary aspirant Geoffrey Wandeto made an entry to watch football and volleyball matches in an event that saw various teams from Dedan Kimathi ward participate.

Geoffrey Wandeto

The aspirant got a rude shock when he was booed by players and a cross section of spectators terming him as a gatecrasher at the event since he did not participate in organising it. It took efforts of the local police from the neighbouring police post and area chief to contain the situation and restore order before disrupted matches could proceed. However, after a short while, another parliamentary aspirant Wanjiku Ngandu made an entry to the venue and unlike his opponent, she received a rousing reception from players and spectators to the astonishment of her rival Wandeto.

Ndung’u Gethenji

In her brief speech to the players and spectators, she asked them to be peaceful as political aspirants came to solicit support from them. So far, Tetu parliamentary seat has attracted a host of other aspirants. They include immediate former MP Ndung’u Gethenji, David Gachigi, Waruru Ndegwa and Nyambura Kanyi who is widow of former area MP Kanyi Waithaka. The constituency was created in 1988 and since then no MP has broken the jinx of serving for more than one term in the August house.

Wanjiku Ngandu

They include the late Waithaka, the late Joe Gethinji, Gikonyo Muya, Nobel Peace winner the late Wangari Maathai, Francis Nyammo and Ndung’u Gethinji. The seat is currently being held by lawyer Gichuhi Mwangi. The constituency has three wards. They include Dedan Kimathi, Wamagana and Aguthi/Gaaki.
Wamagana is the most populated ward and provides a swing vote in every election cycle in the constituency.


Related Articles